Changes in Gun Laws
Changes in New Jersey Gun Laws
New Jersey has recently made a significant change in their gun laws, creating stiffer penalties for unlawful possession of a weapon charges. A possession of a weapon charge has been elevated from a third-degree crime to a second-degree crime. This means that instead of probation and a possible three to five years in jail, it is now five to 10 years in jail. By becoming a second-degree offense, a possession of a weapon charge in New Jersey is now a Graves Act offense. If you are convicted of a Graves Act offense, that means a mandatory minimum of three years in New Jersey state prison.
Gun Charges Defense Attorney in New Jersey With 33 years Experience
The recent changes in New Jersey gun laws have a huge impact on gun owners. Even if you legally obtained a gun with a permit, you can still be charged with illegal possession of a gun. For more information about changes in New Jersey gun laws, seek the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney at the law offices of Joseph D. Rotella. Attorney Joseph Rotella has 33 years of experience and is certified by both the New Jersey Supreme Court and the National Board of Trial Advocacy. He is one of only four lawyers in New Jersey to hold both certifications. When you are facing a mandatory three years in jail, you want an experienced lawyer like Joseph Rotella at your side.
Contact us to schedule a free initial consultation with our Newark gun crime penalty attorney.
Mandatory Three Years Incarceration: Changes in New Jersey Gun Laws
Whether you unlawfully or lawfully obtained a gun, any charges of unlawful possession of a weapon result in the same potential second-degree penalties. As a Graves Act offense, there is the possibility of a mandatory minimum of three years in jail. There is no room for discretion by a judge. If you are convicted, that is it. That is why it is so crucial you hire an experienced criminal defense attorney.
Many times people will have legally purchased a gun with a valid permit but then were completely unaware they illegally possessed a gun by transporting it in a glove compartment — loaded — instead of in the truck. One mistake like that can mean three years in jail. There is no room for misunderstandings or mistakes. The state is seriously prosecuting what is most often a minor error in interpretation of gun laws.
Attorney Joseph Rotella has extensive experience with New Jersey gun laws and has spent years effectively defending clients against them. He knows what arguments to make and will aggressively defend you in order to protect your rights and freedom.
Schedule Your Free Initial Consultation – Newark Unlawful Possession of a Weapon Lawyer
If you have been charged in New Jersey with illegal possession of a gun there is no time to waste. You are facing a mandatory minimum of three years in jail. Take action immediately and obtain the defense you need. Call the law offices of Joseph D. Rotella to discuss your case and options in a free consultation. Call 973-621-0333 or contact the firm online for answers to your questions about changes in Essex County and New Jersey gun laws.
Providing Experienced Criminal Defense for Those Throughout Essex County, Union County, Hudson County, Morris County and Passaic County
- 1 Free Consultation
- 2 33 Years of Experience
- 3 President of the Criminal Defense Bar (ACDL-NJ)